Friday Fictioneers – Fading Away

Image

 

The fading bedroom wallpaper stirs up long buried memories.  You teased me as I held a roll against the bare walls of our new life. ‘It’s loud and vibrant like you,’ I explained. We flicked paste at each other before lying entwined amongst the paper, merging into one.

We are separate now. You are leaving me. I lay my head on your chest willing your heart to take one more beat, as tears drip onto leathery skin.

Your ragged breath warms the cheek you used to touch with such tenderness ‘my beautiful girl.’ 

Then silence, stillness. My world is colourless.

 

Written for Friday Fictioneers – a 100 word story inspired by a photo prompt. 

65 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers – Fading Away

  1. I enjoyed reading this after randomly clicking a link. You condensed and transferred a lot of emotion into a short piece. It reminded me of Raymond Carver at the start, which is great for me, then quickly went somewhere deeper. I’ll read more of your work over time. Nice one! 🙂

  2. This really moved me very much and have to wipe a tear or two or three. Such a beautifully told tale from the happy beginning to the loving end.

Constructive criticism appreciated

