Friday Fictioneers – A new life

Image

 

I fidget on the uncomfortable bed waiting for the man who would masquerade as a doctor. Stroking my still flat stomach invokes a fluttering within, it must be anxiety, it is too soon to feel movement.

I clutch the roll of banknotes tightly Jimmy had thrust upon me to ‘sort myself out’.

“Miss Jones?’ the nurse offers a pen, “you haven’t signed your consent form”.

I turn my head towards the window, conscious of the people below boarding the boat. A fresh start. 

Handing the nurse my unsigned form and my shame I leave on trembling legs.

A new life awaits.

 

 

Written for Friday Fictioneers. A 100 word story inspired by a photo prompt.

 

41 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers – A new life

  1. Brave girl, forget Jimmy and use the money to get away and start anew with her coming baby. I like the way you merged both the inside and outside views of the photo.

  2. Good and well-written story with what I consider a most happy ending. She can do without a loser like Jimmy. She hasn’t let him ruin her life. The coming baby has a good and brave mother. Well done. 🙂 —Susan

  3. Handing the nurse my unsigned form and my shame Well done. Why is it the women always have to have shame and the guys provide the money to take care of it? (I know that is ALWAYS the way it is, but more often than not, I think.)

  4. She will indeed use the money to sort herself out…as long as she puts distance between herself and Jimmy. Very well rendered!

    Greetings from Greece!
    Maria (MM Jaye)

Constructive criticism appreciated

