Friday Fictioneers – The Wedding

 

Image

 

I straighten my tie and pin my button hole with trembling fingers. Abandoning my barely touched breakfast I leave for the church.

 

The music begins and I turn. I see Leonora start her slow walk down the aisle and momentarily forget to exhale. Effortlessly beautiful in antique lace, she is everything I ever wanted. The world seems to slow, along with my heart. Adoration flows through my veins.

 

I glance at my brother. It’s unfortunate he is the one marrying the woman I love. I will make sure his death is painless, his widow comforted. We shall be united in grief.

 

Written for Friday Fictioneers. A 100 word story inspired by the photo prompt.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

57 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers – The Wedding

  1. Yikes! Great set-up. “Effortlessly beautiful in antique lace” is a beautiful and memorable line.

    (I wonder if this would flow better with a bit of sentence restructuring therefore deleting a few of the “I’s” in the story. Just my 2 cents. Take it or leave it.)

  2. I like how matter of fact the voice of this character is. It makes his intentions all the more believable. Personally, I think I’d ditch the line about him being “the one marrying the woman I love”, because I think it overplays your hand and the twist didn’t need it. Just putting the “united in grief” bit would have made it clear, I think. But I know some people accuse me of being too subtle.

Constructive criticism appreciated

