Friday Fictioneers – The Sheep Effect

Image

 

I gently scooped up the pureed vegetables that seeped out of your mouth and ran down your chin. The muslin tucked into your t-shirt was soaked with drool. You waved your hand uncoordinatedly trying to grab the plastic spoon. “No my beautiful boy”, I gently chided. “Let Mummy do it”.

I loved you so fiercely. Had that not been enough? Why had you felt such a desperate need to follow the crowd? The adverse reaction to drugs you had taken at a party had left you, at the age of 22, unable to explain. 

I cry for you, and myself.

 

 

Written for The Friday Fictioneers. A 100 word story inspired by a photo prompt.

43 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers – The Sheep Effect

  1. This was amazing. Amazing. THIS THIS THIS is what I once referred to as “the proper way to do a twist ending” — how you change the reader’s perspective so that they realize that what they believed at first is completely different than they imagined. Very well done.

    My only suggestion would be that the phrase “The adverse reaction to drugs you had taken at a party” is a bit awkward. You may want to try something like “One experiment too many, one mind-blowing experience with some drugs at a party left you…”

    • Thanks so much Helena. Yes I did play around a little with that sentence as didn’t flow but couldn’t come up with a better alternative within the word count. Should have left and come back to. I guess I need to develop some patience!

  2. I agree with Helena and Jan. This is probably the living hell hundreds of parents have had to endure over the last two decades. I hurt for them and wish for them some relief and a day in the sun with a gentle breeze to help them through the difficult path that will come. So very sad. Nan

      • I had 4 boys and we were always checking them out, carefully. I didn’t invade their privacy but I know it was scary during their high school years about drugs. What I was really concerned about was their induction into a fraternity that during initiation poured hard liquor down their throats. Nan

  3. Good story, though very sad. I feel blessed that my kids who are now in their 30’s never got into drugs. It’s destroyed many lives. Kids think when they’re young that they’re invincible. It’s often the parents who suffer right along with them. Well done. —Susan

  4. This is every parents nightmare. Thank God none of my kids were interested in experimenting with drugs. Now my prayers are for my nine grandchildren. You’ve done a great job with the prompt.

  5. Great post, great take on the picture. It is a story that could be my sisters. Although her son made it through the drug period, alcohol killed him at age 26. I pray for everyone who thinks they need to go to the extreme.

      • Thanks to you for what you do! Takes special people to do that! Matt’s death was harder on me than my parents death. So young, so unexpected, so sad as he was her only. Best part is, his girlfriend was a couple weeks pregnant with my sisters only grandchild. Matthew Jr. is now her life.

  6. Pingback: The Bath Can Wait | Random thoughts and fantasies

Constructive criticism appreciated

