The WoMentoring Project

womentoringillo1-larger

 

I have recently (and tentatively) entered the world of creative writing and subsequently felt slightly overwhelmed at times, both by the amount of words in my head and what I should actually be doing with them.

A fellow writer told me about The WoMentoring Project and when I checked it out and saw Louise Walters, author of the amazing Mrs Sinclair’s Suitcase, was volunteering her time as a mentor I couldn’t resist applying.  Ignoring the little doubtful voice in my head which was telling me not to bother, I will never be able to write a book, I pressed the send button.

Applying for a place on this scheme was a pivotal point for me. I was finally acknowledging to myself (even if I didn’t share with anyone else) that I was ready to work towards turning my dream of being a published fiction author into a reality. I made a conscious choice to no longer pay any attention to my insecurities. We are what we believe we can be, our thoughts create our world and the inner me is now offering a high five and a “you go girl”.

I was more than a little bit excited to hear on Friday evening that Louise Walters has agreed to be my mentor. Cue a celebratory bottle of wine, a take out and much happiness. It wasn’t really until Sunday that it suddenly dawned on me that I haven’t actually written or published anything yet. Best stop dancing on the table and crack open the laptop rather than another bottle then.

Yesterday was spent scrambling around trying to find discarded envelopes and old post it notes with odd ideas frantically scribbled on them (I really must develop a system). It was a challenge to say the least, trying to decipher my handwriting and attach meaning to random words, which I am sure at the time were integral to the story, but now make no sense to me. What I lack in a plot I make up for in enthusiasm though and a willingness to work hard, take all constructive criticism on board and learn a craft I have loved for as long as I can remember.

Whatever happens (and I am putting no pressure on myself or my mentor to produce something spectacular**) I am so grateful for this opportunity.

Wish me luck.

 

** I want to produce something spectacular 🙂

 

 

Constructive criticism appreciated

