Friday Fictioneers – The Light

Image

The candle has been burning for 3 days. I haven’t left your bedside once. I caress you with words and make empty promises to a God I don’t believe in. “Open your eyes”, I whisper. You look so small when you are still, an empty shell waiting to be filled with life. The machine beeps, the flame flickers, and then nothing. A momentary minute of silence and darkness before we stand side by side, looking down at your lifeless body.

“You should go back” I say.

“I can’t live without you” you reply.

You take my hand and we walk towards the light.

 

Written for Friday Fictioneers. A 100 word story using a photo prompt. Check it out here http://rochellewisofffields.wordpress.com/2014/04/30/2-may-2014/

 

21 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers – The Light

  1. Considering the ending, I don’t get the not believing in God phrase? Either it lacks logic or I do.
    But great switcharoo nonetheless in POV by the end. Different equals nice in my book! Tay.

    • Thanks for reading and commenting. I think everyone has their own viewpoint on what happens when we depart this world. I don’t believe the existence of God and an afterlife have to go hand in hand. I think you can have one without the other. In this story I thought as the spirit person had only passed three days before they may not have encountered God but still retained their human nature to pray when things are really bad.

Constructive criticism appreciated

