SoCS Challenge – Just

Image

 

I just want to write. It’s simple. It’s what I’ve always wanted to do. To be able to string words into sentences, into paragraphs that have the ability to transport the reader to another place where time doesn’t exist.

I just want to write. I want someone, somewhere to read my stories and momentarily forget who they are and what they should be doing. 

I just want to write. I want to create characters so real, so tangible, the reader roots for them, weeps with them and celebrates their triumphs.

I just want to write. To be left alone, for a minute, a day, an hour. To be able to construct a story without hearing “what’s for dinner?”, “where’s my PE kit?”, “is my shirt ironed”?

I just want to write. To let the words flow from mind to fingers, to screen without worrying about punctuation, grammar, first person, past tense.

I just want to write without any pressure, ideas or expectation with what to do with it afterwards.

I just want to write. 

I just need to stop making excuses and get on with it.

 

This post is part of this weeks SoCS challenge. This week, the prompt is “Just.” Take whichever definition of the word you’d like to and run with it.

http://lindaghill.wordpress.com/2014/04/18/the-friday-reminder-and-prompt-for-socs-april-1914/

16 thoughts on “SoCS Challenge – Just

  1. I really like this! I feel the same way sometimes. I don’t know when it started, maybe it was always there. My parents didn’t see it, no college for me. So, a wordsmith I am not. That can be frustrating. I keep trying though. Great read!!

Thanks so much for reading!